Awards evening

Last Friday evening Okehampton Running Club held its annual Awards Evening at Okehampton Golf Club. This celebration of the achievements of the runners throughout the year gives the members the opportunity to vote for nominees in different categories and trophies are awarded to the winners. This year it was decided to hold the AGM at the same time to give members a chance to hear what the committee has been doing for the membership throughout the year and a chance for them to have their say in what will be happening in the future. Two Honorary posts were to be elected with Claire Sprague stepping down as Secretary and Andy Vallance from Club Captain. Ruth Bushell and Jane Jackson were duly elected to fill these posts. Club Chairman Jeremy Tandy proposed three resolutions; 1; regarding the formal establishment of the ORC Youth Section, 2; amending the ORC Constitution to define junior members as those under 18 in line with England Athletics and 3; the publishing of a formal safeguarding policy, including the election of Anne Binns as safeguarding officer. These resolutions were unanimously voted through. Following a buffet meal the awards were then presented to the members by Jeremy and certificates covering six different race distances were awarded to those who had achieved certain standards in them.

The 2018 Award winners were;

Highest Female Achiever; Mags Jarvis, Highest Make Achiever; jnt Rob Kelly and Roger Voaden, Hardest Female Trainer; Jackie Dawes, Hardest Male Trainer; jnt Rob Hicks and Rob Kelly, Most Improved Female; Jo Bradford, Most Improved Male; Ed Dumpleton, Best Newcomer; Tom Andrew, Coach of the Year Female; Tracey Mills, Coach of the Year Male; Geoff Hill, Member of the Year; jnt Claire Sprague and Jane Jackson.

The final presentation was for the Marilyn Cooper Memorial Cup, donated to the club in memory of Marilyn by her family following her death two years ago. This is the only trophy that is not awarded on votes, but goes to the female member who has raced the most miles in a year. This year’s winner was Jo Turner who had clocked up over 200miles in various ultra-marathons and races done in preparation for them.

Finally a raffle was drawn with the proceeds being donated to North Dartmoor Search and Rescue who help out on some of the clubs summer races, and whom the club members know will be there for them should an accident happen while our running on the moors. The club would like to thank Williams Oseopathy, Clive Lacey sports therapist, HPT Sport Bude, Beauty by Design, Jo Bradford and Vanessa Moys physiotherapy for kindly donating vouchers as prizes for the raffle.

Thank you as always to Jane Jackson for the reporting and Robert Richards the publishing.